Roasted Garlic Risotto
August 13, 2009, 6:22 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

IMG_4497

Yep, sick again. I swear I’ve some propensity towards the creeping crud since we moved out here that is out of this world. If there’s an upper respiratory bug going around, I get it. I’m coughing and nearly deaf from congestion and I’m comfort-food fiending right now; creamy and warm is the order of the day.

I have to confess: risotto is not something I have ever ordered in a restaurant. I’ve never had it at someone else’s house. The only risotto I’ve had is my own, so I might make the most mediocre risotto on the planet and just not know any better. (Maybe I’m vain, in fact I probably am, why else would I have a blog?) I’ve only made it a few times, some with more vegetables tossed in, some plain. This wasn’t a super complex take, but the head of roasted garlic in it really added to the comfort-factor for me. There’s something magical about the transformation from a cup of dry rice to the big bowl of grains floating in a creamy sauce. You just feel like you’ve accomplished something when you finish a risotto, even though it isn’t really a difficult process. It takes time but not a whole lot of brain cells, which is perfect if you aren’t feeling all that well!

Roasted Garlic Risotto

  • 1 cup arborio rice
  • 1 head roasted garlic
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 small white onion, diced
  • 1/4 cup romano cheese, shaved
  • 4 cups stock, water if you haven’t any stock
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1 medium sized sprig of rosemary
  • handful of walnuts, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste

Squeeze out your cloves of roasted garlic into a medium pot, toss in your onions and butter and heat over medium heat until your onions are translucent. Add your rice grains and stir for a minute or two until they are toasted just slightly. Add the wine, salt, pepper and rosemary sprig and simmer gently, stirring occasionally until the wine is nearly absorbed. Then add your stock a half cup or so at a time, simmering and stirring until it has nearly all been absorbed again. Continue the process until your stock is gone/the rice is done. It will be sort of velvety on the outside, but there will still be the slightest bit of bite to the interior of it. It took me about 45 minutes this time, I’ve seen and heard estimates ranging from 30 minutes to a full hour. Let it take it’s time, never ever try and rush this! You’ll have a lovely, silken sauce that has built up in your pot and then you’re pretty much done! Go ahead and pick out your rosemary sprig. Take the walnuts and toast them in a dry pan until they’re crunchy. Scoop a generous helping of risotto into a bowl, top with a few shavings of romano, some toasted walnuts and a little chopped parsley.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

