Pecan Maple Bacon Cookies
July 9, 2009, 9:21 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

 

Pecan Maple Bacon Cookies

Pecan Maple Bacon Cookies

I made my first version of these cookies while my best friend was visiting from Texas. I was fresh off a trip from Portland, where we’d visited the infamous Voodoo Doughnuts. I think I ate three or four Maple Bacon Bars that visit! I’d previously turned up my nose at the whole concept of sweet and savory combinations, but to be honest I’m not sweets-crazy like some people. I’ll take sour and spicy and salty over a bar of chocolate anyday.

But these? Oh, these are good. The last batch had chocolate chips, which I was out of this time. And I honestly thought the chocolate actually overpowered the bacon a bit. Then I spotted the bag of pecans in my cupboard. GENIUS! (Well, not really. But close? Maybe?)

Pecan Maple Bacon Cookies

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup well chopped pecans
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 lb bacon, cooked and crumbled. (You want bacon with a distinctly smoked flavor, and you want it well cooked. Super crispy.)

Preheat your oven to 375. In a large bowl, cream your butter and sugar/brown sugar until nice and fluffy. Mix in your eggs and maple syrup, beat for another minute or so.

In a separate bowl combine your dry ingredients. Stir to combine well and add in small batches to your large bowl. Beat just long enough to mix the dry and wet ingredients well.

Stir your bacon crumbles and pecans in by hand. Drop spoonfuls onto cookie sheets and bake 8-10 minutes, or till nice and golden. Now go freak out your neighbors, friends and coworkers with your tasty bacon cookies!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh my heavens! These look so yummy! I must try!

Comment by jessenicole




Leave a Reply

