My Favorite Potato Salad, Plus: One Big Hunk of Beef
July 6, 2009, 7:18 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

 

 

Vinaigrette Potato Salad

Vinaigrette Potato Salad

 

To start off, I grew up in the American South. Every potato salad I encountered as a kid was absolutely slathered with a creamy sauce, whether it be mayonnaise based or mustard. (And hoo-boy is that a hot topic right there!) I avoided them whenever possible, taking the smallest possible serving otherwise. 

A few months ago I came across a recipe for a vinegar based potato salad. WHAT? Why had nobody informed me of this before? I’m the girl who currently has twelve varieties of vinegar fighting for a spot in her kitchen cabinets. This would be my potato salad salvation: And it was!

Vinaigrette Potato Salad

  • 5 or so medium Yukon Gold potatoes
  • 1/3 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced thin
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 Tbsp poppy seeds

Cut each potato in half and cook them in a large pot of water, don’t forget the salt! They should be tender in about half an hour or so, just keep an eye on them. Drain and run cool water over them. They should be cool enough to handle in ten minutes or so. You’ll find the jackets should just slip off the potatoes at this point, it’s actually kind of cool! Slice them to a uniform thickness, no more than 1/3 of an inch or so.

Set them aside in your serving bowl and mix your vinegar and sugar in a small bowl. Add the olive oil, onion slices and poppy seeds and mix thoroughly.  Drizzle that over your potatoes, mixing gently. Add your chopped parsley and give it just the slightest stir.  Salt and pepper to taste. Let it sit in the fridge for at least half an hour before serving, but it will do well overnight too!

IMG_4094

I realized recently that for all my talk about being a “recovering vegetarian”, I haven’t posted a lot of meat on here. But you know what? I don’t eat a whole lot of it to begin with! As a family we make a big effort to be both health conscious and ethical about our meat eating. We buy “freezer packs” of meat from a local butcher who gets all his meat from small local farms. Everything is grass fed and from no more than 100 miles from where I’m sitting right now. But that means it’s not cheap, to say the least.

So we treat meat as a side, really. To be savored and enjoyed in small portions. I’m not saying we don’t go out once in a while and indulge in a burger the size of our heads, but that is exactly what it should be: a treat. So to go with our tart little potato salad tonite, I snagged a big hunk of a chuck steak out of the freezer and hit the grill.

I’m a bit of a purist when it comes to steaks. If your meat is good quality, it shouldn’t NEED much more than salt and pepper and a good sear on it to be worth the money. This gorgeous beast got salt, pepper and a little smoked paprika rubbed on each side of him and was stuck in the fridge for an hour or so before I started him on the grill. What a recipe, huh? 🙂 Don’t worry, guys. Later this week I’ll be roasting a whole chicken, something I’ve never quite done to success.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

AHHH my mouth is watering! I love vinegary potato salad; I just bookmarked a German potato salad recipe this very afternoon. I forgot that such a thing existed.

I’m reading On Food and Cooking: The Science and Lore of the Kitchen and just got to the section on meat. According to it, while meat was vital for our ancestors’ brain development, it was historically only enjoyed as a kind of treat (and that’s the best, healthiest way to enjoy it – just because there’s tons available doesn’t mean you have to eat it all the time). So, right on. I wish we ate less meat. Well, today’s dinner is meat-less, but that’s because I’m doing pancakes for dinner, which probably isn’t much better.

Comment by Gail

Ok, I just made this. SO MUCH YUM. I’m linking my sister to this because she loved it too.

Comment by Gail

You’re my potato HERO!!!

Comment by Emily




Leave a Reply

