Red Onion and Rosemary Focaccia
June 18, 2009, 8:40 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

IMG_3878

 

I love bread. Okay, well that’s a bit of an understatement, I am obsessed with bread. And since the day I discovered I indeed had the ability to make this wonderful foodstuff myself my house has been filled with that wonderful warm, yeasty smell at least once a week. (More if I have an “oops!”, one must have at least one good loaf of bread in this house at all times.)

It’s been a bad bread month in my house. I’ve failed miserably at a French loaf, even my normally lovely challah has been awful. But this? Oh it was Good. Capital G good. And barely more complex than pizza dough. A perfect way to regain my bread-confidence and a really fabulous first bread for a new baker.

Adapted from How to Cook Everything, by Mark Bittman

Red Onion and Rosemary Focaccia

  • 3 cups all-purpose or bread flour (Keep a little extra close by, you might just find you need it!)
  • 2 teaspoons instant yeast
  • 2 teaspoons sea salt (Again, keep it nearby for sprinkling later.)
  • 4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, plus extra to drizzle
  • 1 tablespoon chopped rosemary leaves (Fresh is best, but if you only have dry-go for it!)
  • 1/2 medium red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/8 cup parmesan cheese, shredded

First off: I have no mixer, so I do all this by hand. If you have one and are familiar with how it should be used to mix dough, go right ahead! I won’t fault you one bit, the only reason I don’t have one is my kitchen is packed to the gills as it is. 

In a large mixing bowl, toss in your flour, yeast, salt and 3 tablespoons of the olive oil. Add a cup of warm water and begin mixing. Keep adding water a bit at a time until you’ve got a big sticky ball in your bowl. (I think I ended up with about a cup and a half of water in there all told, but this can really vary.) Keep adding water until you get the right texture, and if you’ve gone too far just add a couple tablespoons of flour to try and get it back to that sticky ball I keep mentioning.

Dust a small area of your countertop with flour and turn your dough out onto it. Knead until you’ve got a smooth ball, toss it in a bowl and cover it with plastic wrap. Sit it in a warm corner of your kitchen and forget about it for an hour or two, or until that bad boy has doubled in size.

Use that last full tablespoon of olive oil to grease the bottom of your pan. I used one that was about 9×13 and would really use a slightly larger one next time, I like it a little thinner than this batch turned out. Place your dough in the center of the pan and begin pressing it outward to the edges. Don’t force it, don’t break it: Be gentle! If it won’t go all the way this time, kiss it on the cheek and come back a little later. Just remember to cover it and come back in a few minutes. Once you’ve coaxed it to the edges, cover again and let it sit for another half hour or so.

Heat your oven to 375. Uncover your dough and poke at it repeatedly. Make it angry! Dimple the entire surface with your fingertips and then gently drizzle olive oil over the top. Arrange your red onion slices over it, sprinkle your cheese and liberally salt it. Stick that gorgeous thing in the oven for about a half an hour or until it is golden and just begging to be eaten. Let it cool on a wire rack at least long enough you won’t burn your tongue while you’re shoving it in your mouth.

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow, that looks awesome… and I don’t even LIKE onions. -clap-

Comment by Abigail

There are very few things you couldn’t put on top of focaccia! Garlic? Tomatoes? What do you like?

Comment by therecoveringvegetarian

Looks perfect. Love focaccia with onion and rosemary, lovely combination!

Comment by Ramya

Thanks! It didn’t last long, between us and the neighbors it was done for by the evening I baked it. 🙂

Comment by therecoveringvegetarian

This would be a great way to use some of the fresh rosemary from our garden. And we always have red onion on hand for salads. Yes, I think this is a keeper!

I found you on TasteSpotting and am writing to say that if you have any photos that aren’t accepted there, I’d love to publish them. Visit my new site (below), it’s a lot of fun! I hope you will consider it.

Best,
Casey
Editor
http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

Comment by TasteStopping

Thanks! I’ll check it out.

Comment by therecoveringvegetarian

This looks delicious! I ended here from your LJ post, but I couldn’t comment there. What else did you add to the bread? It looks like a little rosemary on top.

I have got to try this recipe. Thanks for sharing it! 🙂

Comment by Pink Sky

There’s the red onion, rosemary, a little parmesan and sea salt on top and that’s it!

Comment by therecoveringvegetarian

Looks delicious! I was so embarrassed about my question after I hit submit and then going back and reading the title… duh. But it’s on my kitchen counter just waiting for enough hours at home to rise and do its thing. Though after this I might go ahead and try refrigerating overnight instead… 🙂

Comment by Pink Sky

Do you think I could refrigerate the dough overnight to do a slow rise, then bake it the next day?

Comment by Carolyn Jung

I don’t see why not! It would likely make it taste even better. I might have to give that a go next time. 🙂

Comment by therecoveringvegetarian

Wow, I just made this tonight and it was AMAZING! I also like thinner focaccia and so I used a larger pan and it turned out fantastically. Thanks for the recipe!

Comment by Katherine

Ahh, that’s awesome! You are officially my first “Hey dude, I made this and it was good!” comment. 🙂

Comment by therecoveringvegetarian

[…] CAN use a premade pizza dough for this, but try making your own. My focaccia recipe will make really delicious pizza […]

Pingback by Grilled Pizza, or I’m Back! «




Leave a Reply

