Chipotle Honey Butter Shrimp Skewers with a Carrot and Cilantro Salad
June 18, 2009, 1:40 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,
Shrimpy, cilantro-y joy!
Shrimpy, cilantro-y joy!
If you’re reading this already, we probably know each other. But if, in fact, you are a stranger to my world…Let me tell you a story.
My name is Deborah, and I am a former vegetarian. I’ve never had any moral opposition to eating meat, although I do understand it. I just decided one day that meat really wasn’t worth the trouble. I caved here and there over the years and didn’t feel much guilt about it, I think I was always just too lazy to worry about meat myself. It took time and energy I didn’t want to bother putting into my food, because food was something I really didn’t enjoy thinking about. I’ve had a sorry relationship with food for most of my life, and really thought that even thinking too hard about food might end up making me fat. 
Fast forward a few years and after some begging on my husband’s part I decide to go ahead and make a real turkey for Thanksgiving. I do some serious research and decide on a recipe that sounds pretty simple and tasty: Nothing more involved than some citrus and herbs and an impressive amount of butter. And oh, it was good. I was done for from there.
But my lack of food knowledge has been crippling. I don’t think I like a great number of things, but in reality I’m ignorant. I don’t know how they should taste or how they should be enjoyed. And I’m scared! I don’t want to put a whole lot of time and effort in to find that the food doesn’t satisfy. That’s where this blog comes in, it’ll be a part of the healing process for me. I’ll try things and sometimes I’ll fail and it will always be okay. And I will indeed share my failures here as well. The intent is an update during the week and one a weekend, we’ll see if that actually works out that way. But anyway! Let’s get on to the food.

 

If I’m going to start this thing, I really can’t imagine any better meal to start with than this one: it got Spouse to eat zucchini and got me eating shrimp. Both of these things were thought to be portents of the apocalypse before tonite, but I think we’re all safe now. 

It’s a really great summer meal as there is almost no cooking to it, you blanch the zucchini and spend a few minutes hovering over the grill, that’s it! Most of the time is in prep, and it is well worth it.

Both recipes are modifications of some found in:
Tangy Tart Hot & Sweet by Padma Lakshmi.

Carrot and Cilantro Salad

This cooling salad is a near-perfect combination of tart and sweet, exactly what you need for the end of a hot day.

  • Vinaigrette 
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar (Rice vinegar would have been interesting here too!)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure orange oil

Salad

  • 2 pounds carrots, shredded coarsely
  • 2 cups cilantro leaves
  • 1/4 cup white sesame seeds, dry roasted  in a pan until golden brown (Use a fairly low heat and keep an eye on them! Approx. 5 min.)
  • 1 seeded jalapeño pepper, diced (Keep the seeds if you want a little more heat, I was hoping my 3 year old might just take a bite or two.)
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/4 teaspoon za’atar powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Combine the vinaigrette ingredients together in a salad bowl and toss with all the salad ingredients except the za’atar powder and sea salt. Save those for just before serving and sprinkle them atop the salad.

Chipotle Honey Butter

  •  8 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon chipotle pepper

Toss it all in a bowl and blend by hand or with a blender until smooth. Try not to eat it all before you hit the grill with your shrimp!

Shrimp Skewers 

  • 2 pounds jumbo shrimp, cleaned and deveined
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 2/3 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 large zucchini (Approx 1 pound) blanched for about five minutes in boiling water and drained
  • 1/2 cup chipotle honey butter
  • wooden skewers (Don’t forget to soak them in water for 30 minutes!)

Set your shrimp aside to marinate in the lime juice and salt, at least 20 minutes before you’re ready to grill.

Whip out your mandolin if you have one, and you know that you want any excuse to take it out if you do. Otherwise sharpen your best knife and be careful! Slice the zucchini into thin ribbons.

Melt the Chipotle honey butter on low heat.

Now onto the skewers! Pierce a zucchini slice about half an inch from the edge and fold over about an inch or so, piercing again. Keep going until you’ve got the whole thing on your skewer. Slide it on down to the end and then go for a shrimp. Alternate till you’ve got three or four slices of zucchini and three or four shrimp. Don’t crowd it!

Lay them flat on your hot grill and brush each side with the melted Chipotle honey butter. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes on each side, being careful not to overcook. Continue basting them as they cook. Once they’re cooked all the way through toss a couple of skewers on a plate with your salad, squeeze a little lime juice over it and dig in!

 

 

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This dish is AWESOME!!! It is extremely tasty, yet healthy. The different flavors (sweet, spicy, tangy) are perfectly distributed in every bite. Not to mention, it looks beautiful on the plate. I give it a 10 out of 10! Thank you, Deb!

Comment by Erin

Girl, you rock! First comment on my first post. 😀

Comment by therecoveringvegetarian

Yummy!!!! That looks sooooo good right now! I didn’t really eat dinner. Bad mistake clicking on your link. Good stuff though!

Comment by crazy8s

Oooh you should totally give it a try. Like I said, I never liked shrimp before but I loved these.

Comment by therecoveringvegetarian

This looks delicious! I am totally going to try it. Every thing I cook is always so bland and down-home country type stuff. I need something new.

I’ll let you know my experience with it! ❤

Oh, and this is CaptainRhenne (Ashe) from LJ. FYI. 😀

Comment by CaptainRhenne

Definitely let me know how you like it! It was a hit over here, fo sho. 😀

Comment by therecoveringvegetarian




Leave a Reply

