Olive Oil Cake-And a giveaway!
August 15, 2009, 4:04 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

IMG_4518

I think we’ve discussed how I’m bad at cakes, right? Well this one is so easy even I can churn it out! Olive oil cake may sound a liiiiittle weird if you’ve never had it before, but it’s a fascinating taste. Fruity, a little earthy. This one has tons of orange zest in it, so it’s really bright and sunny. It isn’t too sweet, so this is a great little teacake, something to go with your coffee or tea for breakfast or a snack. (I know, I’m so healthy suggesting cake for breakfast. Sue me!)

Olive Oil Cake

(Adapted from Bon App├ętit, Sept 2009)

  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached white flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup fruity olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon orange zest (or more, if you’re zest crazy like I am!)

Preheat your oven to 325, prepping a 9×5 loaf pan. Mix your dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a separate bowl mix your eggs, milk, olive oil and zest. In thirds, slowly whisk your liquid into your dry ingredients. Transfer to your loaf pan. Bake until a toothpick comes out clean from the center of the loaf, which took me just under an hour. Cool in pan for 20 minutes or so and then transfer to a plate. Really really tasty with some confectioner’s sugar dusted on top, try serving it with a spicy tea!

And now to the giveaway, guys. It’s like I blinked and we got to this point, but The Recovering Vegetarian hit 10,000 individual hits last night! (We’re actually at somewhere near 10,300 now, I think!) I never imagined even half that number of people would bother reading this thing, so I’m feeling like celebrating. So I pose you a question. It’s a classic amongst foodie-types, but I think with good reason.

If you were set to die tomorrow, what would your last meal be and why? There are no limits to the meal, it can be as elaborate or as spartan as you wish. You can only answer one time and must answer by 11:59 Pacific time on Monday. I’ll pick what I feel are the two best answers and the people who gave them will each receive a ten dollar gift card to either Amazon or Itunes, their choice. Please remember to leave your email address in your comment! (I know it isn’t a huge giveaway, but it’s my first! Enjoy the excitement with me!)

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love the way this looks, especially the contrast of the white sugar on the black plate, and that jaunty little piece of orange peel on top. Very nice. :)

Comment by healthytastycheap

Thanks! I’ve had so little luck with baked goods that I figured I might as well dress up the one I know I can do. :) It sure doesn’t hurt that it’s the tastiest cake in the world to me.

Comment by therecoveringvegetarian

This cake always sounds intriguing. I like your description of it as sweet, but not too sweet–a good pairing with tea. I drink a lot of delicate teas (sencha and oolongs), and really sweet snacks just overpower the tea’s flavor.

My last meal…probably a full dinner from the Bangkok Grill in Toledo, Ohio. Thai is the most delicious food on the planet, and that’s the best Thai I’ve ever had, so there you go. :)

I think my address will show up for you (although not for other readers?) because I entered it in the form. :)

Comment by Laughingrat

Oooh, this would be a really lovely companion to an oolong!

Thai food is high up on my last- meal list, for sure. Tom Kha Gai is near perfection, taste-wise, for me. :D

Comment by therecoveringvegetarian

As odd as this may sound, I would have BLT’s. The night before my grandfather passed away that was what he made me for dinner. He was so proud that his tomato’s from the garden were the best he had ever had.
Also the cake- simply amazing. I told my husband about it and he is very excited about it, as he loves olive oil.
kconner73@charter.net < i left it in the info above too.

Comment by Krista Conner

So, this cake sounds really interesting to me, but I’m not sure what “fruity” olive oil is. You feel like elaborating? :) Thanks!

Comment by Kristan

My last meal would for sure be a toasted tomato sandwich. Italian style white bread – toasted with mayo, salt and tomatoes from my mom’s garden. (Why are they always better than mine?)This is the ultimate comfort food for me. I used to eat these nonstop when I was younger and home from school in the summer. They were so easy for me to make (ok – maybe I set toast on fire one or twice (3 times) but still…) Whenever I eat one I just feel happy. So, I think if I was going to die the next day, I’d want to eat something comforting, no fuss, that made me happy!

(Also – awesome cake…making it tonight!)

Comment by Dana




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

