Sriracha-Lime Boiled Peanuts
July 12, 2009, 6:29 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

 

Salty, spicy, yummy!

Salty, spicy, yummy!

One of my strongest food memories of summer as a kid involve peanuts. The kind I grew up eating were simple, but really tasty. Salt, Cayenne-based seasoning. Spicy and delicious! Most of the cooking around our house was my mother’s purview, but a few things belonged solely to my father. At least in my mind. They tended to be really spicy things, something that involved a lot of tinkering, borderline obsessive attention to the spice level. Is it any wonder all my favorite foods make other people sweat?

I decided I wanted to play with some Asian flavors on this batch. Something warm and tangy with a little bit of heat. Absolute success! I had to remind myself that eating something besides peanuts for dinner was probably a good idea.

Sriracha-Lime Boiled Peanuts

  • 1lb raw peanuts, in shells
  • 8oz soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 1/4 cup sriracha chili sauce (Feel free to increase this as much as you like)
  • 1 inch knob of fresh ginger, peeled and sliced
  • handful of fresh cilantro leaves
  • 2Tbsp rice vinegar

As far as recipes go, this one is pretty darn simple. Grab the biggest pot you’ve got on hand and toss in your peanuts. Fill with water, add all your other ingredients. Bring to a boil, then turn it down to a gentle simmer. Keep an eye on your water level and periodically pop out a peanut, unshell and taste. Adjust the seasonings to suit your taste, enjoy the smell as you come to check on it. These are definitely the most fragrant peanuts I’ve ever made. You’ll know yours are done when the shells are pliable and the nuts inside are soft and flavorful. (Mine took about six hours?)

When they’re done, place a generous serving in a bowl and toss with red pepper flakes and another small handful of cilantro leaves. If you have any left over, some people drain theirs and store them in the refrigerator that way, I prefer to store them in some of the cooking liquid. They taste even better the next day that way!


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Over the weekend, my husband and I attended a party, and as part of the cocktail hour, a bowl of spicy olives was offered. My husband went gaga over them. I’m sure that this recipe will elicit a similar response. It also reminds me of one of our favorite (Asian) restaurants, which serves bowls of seasoned peanuts and pickled cucumber together when you sit down. It’s such a strange flavor combination, but thinking about that along with your recipe convinces me that perhaps peanuts are a great canvas. You can add layers of flavor and they offer a meaty, umami presence to balance any spicy, tart, sweet or salty. We’ll have to try this.

Best,
Casey
Editor
http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

Comment by TasteStopping

I have never been able to find raw peanuts outside of Louisiana or Mississippi. Where do you suggest finding them elsewhere? Oh my god boiled peanuts are a taste of heaven.

Comment by Bridget

I live in Washington State and have found them in several grocery stores in the area! What are your local options? Do you have any Asian markets nearby?

Comment by therecoveringvegetarian

Thank you for the innovative recipe for boiled peanuts. I used your recipe on my company’s, National Peanut Board, facebook fan page. Please check it out!

http://www.facebook.com/pages/National-Peanut-Board/63476447613#/pages/National-Peanut-Board/63476447613

Comment by Lindsay Spencer

I’ve never heard of boiled peanuts before, but it sounds very interesting!

Comment by thecookieshop

I honestly didn’t realize that it was such a regional thing before I posted this! I thought everybody who had access to peanuts grew up eating them boiled. :)

Comment by therecoveringvegetarian




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

